Shipping Recycled Computers to Primary School in Jamaica

From the email I sent out:

Here we go again!

For three years now, we have been rebuilding and repurposing discarded PCs and supporting a school in Jamaica called Brampton Primary. Just three months ago we sent another shipment of discarded and unused old model PCs to Jamaica.

It’s a labor of love. How it works is from donated unused and discarded PCs we rebuild and reuse them in the Brampton community. For the most part, these are computers which are on their third and fourth lives, or else too old for kids here on the island. (Though, this last semester here in Key West we gave away six computer workstations to deserving Key West students.)

How I fund this is by doing computer repairs. My company, Computers Are My Life, regularly charges $80 an hour for service calls and repair.  When we ship, I offer a computer clean-up and repair special to pay for the shipping and transportation of the PCs.

This is the special: Buy two hours for $100 that you use whenever you want. Save $60 and you may use it now or save it for a rainy day. Keep it like virus or spyware insurance policy. I have a lot of happy customers of the past three years who have helped to support this program. It’s a win-win-win. (You, the kids, and your computer.)

These $100 certificates are good for whenever you need. I am flying out April 22 and will return May 9.

Your support for this project means to the world to about 92 students in Jamaica who have computers because of all of us.

Thanks, Key West. Keep up the good work!

Mike

And here is a PayPal link for donations.

It was requested and that’s the kind of request which can seriously make a world of difference.

About Mike Mongo

"My name is Mike Mongo and I am an astronaut teacher. Also: author & space STEM educator. While I travel frequently, I live on the island of Key West in the Florida Caribbean. My primary occupation has me working with students and encouraging students to pursue careers in space and astronautics. Much of my time is spent writing, teaching and learning about space and space travel. Of all the things I love doing being an astronaut teacher is certainly my favorite and most fulfilling."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

