Vista has been causing many of my clients many problems recently. SO many I have begun to wonder about “built-in obsolescence”. Vista started poorly and is aging worse. (Fortunately, the opposite is true of XP though Windows 7 seems to be a long-term winner.)

In any case, a friend’s Vista-based HP Slimline unit developed some weird hiccup including some strange “Bad Image” error message after start-up,  along with a “Fax Man Server has stopped running” message.

Googling Vista Bad Image, I got this.

The instructions were simple.

Go to Start, then Run…

Type in cmd for a command prompt/command window.

Type in “sfc /scannow” (no quotes, include space after sfc). Press Enter. Follow directions. (I was told to restart and do it again. On the second go it ran. And ran. And ran…)

Scannow will takes some time. As in possibly hours. But it did fix the errors. Most of them. So I ran it again.

Yet there will some errors Windows said it was unable to repair. Having already run System Diagnostics, I knew that the hardware (harddrive) was okay.

Googling vista scannow, I got Microsoft Support doc 929833.

It explains what to do with errors which “cannot” be repaired. Cool.

Then for the capper, I removed all the Lexus software. (Somethiong called ezprint.exe was having an issue. And Fax Man Server, too, both kept on quiting. It all seemed to be coming from the Lexus software.)

Lastly, I ran AVG PC Tune-up 2011, which is expensive to buy but gives you a 24-hr run as a freebie.

And now the computer is running great!

About Mike Mongo

"My name is Mike Mongo and I am an astronaut teacher. Also: author & space STEM educator. While I travel frequently, I live on the island of Key West in the Florida Caribbean. My primary occupation has me working with students and encouraging students to pursue careers in space and astronautics. Much of my time is spent writing, teaching and learning about space and space travel. Of all the things I love doing being an astronaut teacher is certainly my favorite and most fulfilling."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

