How to replace MacBook 13″ CMOS battery. Also: How to replace MacBook 13″ internal battery. AND: How to replace MacBook 13″ back-up Battery. LASTLY: How to replace MacBook 13″ PRAM battery!

Crazy title, right?

I would ordinarily think so. Except I did more than a few hours googling for Macbook CMOS battery replacement info, after which I only felt frustrated.

It was less than fun. And when I figured out the key phrase which paved the way to a single link within a random thread with the answer, I felt obligated to help post in a clearer manner. It was “Macbook 13″ pram battery. The thing is called a pram battery.

There have got to be many people who have found themselves in this same situation, dead or failing pram battery. The reason I did was a cousin’s girlfriend’s white 2008 MacBook 13″ had the “infamous 9-beep” problem. The only solution for this (unless it heals itself—which is rare but happens) is to “replace the internal battery”.

Only no one mentions where it is or how to do it.  Even so, you can buy the thing: Parts # 922-8266 or 922-7369 depending on what year model. So after buying one, what was I to do?

I went and took it apart. And then I put it (successfully) back together. And then I googled some more because I couldn’t understand how it could be so difficult to find the answer.

It turns out it is just like this: This is the disassembly for the MacBook 13″ pretty much spot-on. (Again, I found this by googling “MacBook 13″ pram battery.)

So now you can replace the MacBook 13″ CMOS battery/battery too.

Remember this IMPORTANT REMINDER: You are removing the fan assembly so you will need to have thermal heat sink compound on hand. (Easy to replace, just use a half-a-raisin size dot of it, about three bb’s worth.)

And that’s it. If you have any questions, feel free to post. It was a very difficult process the first time—and there a bunch of wires which have to be neatly put back into place but even that’s not too bad—but after getting the hand of it with some instruction it’s not too bad at all. Nonetheless, I’d block about two hours for it and keep careful track and order of my screws. (There’s a bunch!)

About Mike Mongo

"My name is Mike Mongo and I am an astronaut teacher. Though I travel very much, I live on the island of Key West. My primary occupation is working with students and encouraging students to pursue careers in space and astronautics. Much of my time is spent writing, teaching and learning about space and space travel. Of all the things I love doing being an astronaut teacher is my favorite!"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to replace MacBook 13″ CMOS battery. Also: How to replace MacBook 13″ internal battery. AND: How to replace MacBook 13″ back-up Battery. LASTLY: How to replace MacBook 13″ PRAM battery!

  1. dwaver says:

    YOU ROCK! ROCK ON! :) SHARING IS CARING! :) AND APPLE DID NOT CARE ABOUT CUSTOMERS IF THEY NEED TO USE CONDUCTOR-PASTE TO REPLACE A F**** CMOS BATTERY. WHY CAN CMOS SETTINGS NOT BE SAVED ON A SSD-PERMANENT STORAGE CHIP? (YES OF COURSE BECAUSE THEN HOW TO RESET IT EH? WELL MAYBE WITH POWER ON AND HOLDING SOME BUTTON (LIKE THE RESET BUTTON?) )

    ITS DO-ABLE APPLE!
    DON’T FORGET ABOUT JOBS AND SIMPLICITIY!!!

  2. Pingback: windows FAIL XP sp3 time sync FAIL « dwave's blogg

Leave a Reply

